Georgia Weapons Carry License

Applications 

attention

BEGINNING MAY 14, 2020, APPLICATIONS FOR A GEORGIA WEAPONS CARRY LICENSE WILL BE TAKEN BETWEEN THE HOURS OF 8:00AM-3:00PM, PLEASE NOTE: IF YOU ARE IN LINE AT 3:00PM YOUR APPLICATION WILL BE PROCESSED.

IT IS RECOMMENDED BUT NOT MANDATORY THAT YOU COMPLETE THE APPLICATION ONLINE BEFORE COMING TO THE OFFICE AT: https://georgiaprobaterecords.com/Firearms/FirearmsApplication.aspx UPON ARRIVAL, PLEASE LET THE CLERK KNOW YOU HAVE COMPLETED YOUR APPLICATION ONLINE.

THE STATE OF GEORGIA EXECUTIVE ORDER ISSUED BY GOVERNOR BRIAN P. KEMP STATES that applications for renewals of such weapons carry licenses and renewal licenses shall be considered to be for a renewal license if the holder of such weapons carry license or renewal license applies within 120 days after the expiration date on the face of license, and that if the Public Health State of Emergency is Extended, then this provision shall apply to any weapons carry license or renewal license that expires during the Public Health State of Emergency.

Georgia weapons carry applications will be taken from 8 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. at:

280 Constitution Boulevard
Room 2009
Dallas, GA 30132

First Time Applicants

Applicants Must:

  • Be 21 years of age
  • Be a resident of Paulding County to apply for and receive the license here
  • Provide proof of legal residence if the applicant is not a citizen of the United States
  • Provide a valid Georgia Drivers License or Georgia I.D. with correct Paulding County Address. If address is not correct on ID then provide one of the following with ID:
    • Current tag receipt
    • Voters registration card
    • Water bill with service address
    • Electric bill with service address
    • P.O Boxes are not accepted
  • Be fingerprinted and submit to a criminal and mental health records check
  • Not have any legal disqualification to receipt of the license
  • No weapons carry license shall be issued to any person younger than 21 years of age unless he or she provides the above and is:
    • at least 18 years of age
    • provides proof that he or she has completed basic training in the armed forces of the United States
    • provided proof that he or she is actively serving in the armed forces of the United States or has been honorably discharged from such service
      • Suggested Proofs of the above:
        • Certificate of completion of basic training
        • Current pay stub showing current employment with military
        • DD214 (ie: medically discharged, etc.)

Upon approval and printing of your Georgia Weapons Carry License it will be mailed to you by the Police and Sheriff Press at the address provided by you on your application.

Please continue to Application Process for more information.

For Current Georgia Carry Laws, please refer to the following code sections

O.C.G.A. §16-11-126

O.C.G.A. §16-11-127

O.C.G.A. §16-11-129